Downtown


Jacques-Cartier Bridge- Montréal

Jacques-Cartier Bridge

DSC_0005

Amherst Street in the  “village”.

DSC_0001

Ste-Catherine Street in the ” Village”

 

 

 

 

 

View of downtown Montréal – julienimmobilier.com

 

 

 

 

Old Montréal harbor

Ville-Marie is a central borough of Montreal. It includes both the business center and the historic center of the city.

The name Ville-Marie, the original name of the colony founded in 1642 that will become Montreal 2, comes from the notion of a Marian city. Several cities are thus dedicated to this biblical character, like Lourdes. The Sulpicians who founded and ruled Montreal are great devotees of Mary. The Marian vocation of the city was conceived in advance by Jérôme Le Royer, Sieur de La Dauversière.

The Ville-Marie borough occupies the central part of the city of Montreal, between Mount Royal and the St. Lawrence River. It is surrounded by the city of Westmount to the southwest, by the boroughs of Côte-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace, Outremont and Le Plateau-Mont-Royal to the west, Hochelaga-Maisonneuve to the north, and Southwest to the south. It also includes Saint Helena and Notre Dame in the St. Lawrence River.

 

The borough is the heart of the metropolis and one of the most vibrant areas of it. There are churches, skyscrapers, shopping malls, shops on St. Catherine Street, as well as restaurants and cafes. There are also four universities.

Many of the commercial neighborhoods offer significant residential-commercial mix, with ground-floor shops and upper-level residences, or a mix of luxury commercial and residential towers. The residential density of downtown Montreal is among the highest of downtowns in North America.

Peter-McGill District

The Peter-McGill district covers part of the former territory of Faubourg Saint-Antoine. It has 31,665 inhabitants.

Shaughnessy Village

The Golden Square Mile

The Museum Quarter

Saint-Jacques District

The Saint-Jacques district has 28,100 inhabitants.

Downtown Montreal

The Montreal Business Center

Old Montreal (including the Old Port of Montreal)

Chinatown

The Latin Quarter and the Faubourg Saint-Laurent

The International Quarter

The Health District

The Entertainment Quarter

The City of Le Havre

Multimedia City

Griffintown (in part)

Sainte-Marie District

It covers part of the former Faubourg Sainte-Marie and has 23 555 inhabitants.

South Central

The district of Sainte-Marie

The Village

Highlights

There are museums: Pointe-à-Callière, Château Ramezay, Archeology Museum of Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours Chapel, Musée Grévin de Montréal.

The borough of Ville-Marie now only has seven buildings dating from the French regime in Montreal (finished in 1763), the Old Seminary of Saint-Sulpice (1684), the former General Hospital (1693), the Château Ramezay (1705 ), Maison Clément-Sabrevois de Bleury (1747), Maison Brossard-Gauvin (1750), a small outbuilding associated with the “Papineau House” not accessible by the street (1752) and the Maison Dumas (1757).

Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal

Old Seminary of Saint-Sulpice

Montreal City Hall

Old Port of Montreal

Bonsecours Market

Chapel Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours

Marguerite Bourgeoys Museum

Jacques Cartier Square

Parade

Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site of Canada

Lucien-Saulnier Building

Complex Chaussegros-de-Léry

Jacques Viger Building

House of culture Frontenac

Square Victoria is a square in the heart of the Montreal International District. Rectangular in shape, it is located in a lane that bears many names, between Beaver Hall Hill to the north and McGill Street to the south. It is bordered by Viger street to the north and Saint-Jacques street to the south. It is crossed by Saint-Antoine street. A subway station bears the name: Square-Victoria, with two entrances leading into the square.

One of the most important elements of the Square remains the Hector Guimard art nouveau metro entrance, created according to the models of the entrances to the Paris metro. A large statue of Queen Victoria is also in the center. There is also a statue of Ju Ming called Taichi Single Whip.

Terraces adorned with modern sculptures, inland water jets and benches, reserve space for individual trees to the north, or grouped in a wooded area to the south.

On the edge of the square are located: the Montreal World Trade Center to the east, the Bourse Tower and the Place de la Cité International to the west and the Quebecor building to the south.

Centre Ville


Le pont Jacques-Cartier- Montréal

Pont Jacques-Cartier

DSC_0005

Rue Amherst au “village”.

DSC_0001

Rue Ste-Catherine est au “villa

 

 

 

 

Vue centre-ville de Montréal – julienimmobilier.com

 

 

 

 

Port du vieux Montréal

 

 

Ville-Marie est un arrondissement central de Montréal. On y retrouve à la fois le centre des affaires et le centre historique de la ville.

Le nom Ville-Marie, le nom original de la colonie fondée en 1642 qui deviendra Montréal 2, provient de la notion de ville mariale. Plusieurs villes sont ainsi dédiées à ce personnage biblique, à l’image de Lourdes. Les sulpiciens qui ont fondé et gouverné Montréal, sont de grands dévôts de Marie. La vocation mariale de la ville a été conçue d’avance par Jérôme Le Royer, sieur de La Dauversière.

L’arrondissement de Ville-Marie occupe la partie centrale de la ville de Montréal, entre le mont Royal et le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Il est entouré par la ville de Westmount au sud-ouest, par les arrondissements de Côte-des-Neiges–Notre-Dame-de-Grâce, Outremont et Le Plateau-Mont-Royal à l’ouest, Hochelaga-Maisonneuve au nord, et Le Sud-Ouest au sud. Il comprend également les îles Sainte-Hélène et Notre-Dame dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent.

L’arrondissement est le cœur même de la métropole et l’un des secteurs les plus vibrants de celle-ci. On y trouve des églises, des gratte-ciel, des centres commerciaux, des commerces sur la rue Sainte-Catherine, ainsi que des restaurants et des cafés. On y trouve également quatre universités.

Plusieurs des quartiers commerciaux offrent une mixité résidentielle-commerciale importante, avec commerces au rez-de-chaussée et résidences sur les étages supérieures, ou un mélange de tours commerciales et résidentielles de luxe. La densité résidentielle du centre-ville de Montréal est parmi les plus élevés des centres-villes d’Amérique du Nord.

District Peter-McGill

Le district Peter-McGill recouvre une partie de l’ancien territoire du Faubourg Saint-Antoine. Il compte 31 665 habitants.

Shaughnessy Village
Le Mille carré doré
Le Quartier du musée

District Saint-Jacques

Le district Saint-Jacques compte 28 100 habitants.

Le Centre-ville de Montréal
Le centre des affaires de Montréal
Le Vieux-Montréal (comprenant le Vieux-Port de Montréal)
Le Quartier chinois
Le Quartier latin et le Faubourg Saint-Laurent
Le Quartier international
Le Quartier de la santé
Le Quartier des spectacles
La Cité du Havre
La Cité du Multimédia
Griffintown (en partie)

Le District Sainte-Marie

Il recouvre une partie de l’ancien Faubourg Sainte-Marie et compte 23 555 habitants.

Le Centre-Sud
Le quartier de Sainte-Marie
Le Village
Le Parc Jean-Drapeau

Centres d’intérêt

On y trouve des musées : Pointe-à-Callière, Château Ramezay, musée d’archéologie de la Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours, Musée Grévin de Montréal.

L’arrondissement de Ville-Marie ne compte maintenant plus que sept édifices datant du régime français montréalais (fini en 1763), le Vieux Séminaire de Saint-Sulpice (1684), l’ancien Hôpital général (1693), le château Ramezay (1705), la Maison Clément-Sabrevois de Bleury (1747), la Maison Brossard-Gauvin (1750), une petite dépendance associée à l’ensemble « Maison Papineau » non accessible par la rue (1752) et la Maison Dumas (1757).

Basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal
Vieux Séminaire de Saint-Sulpice
Hôtel de ville de Montréal
Vieux-Port de Montréal
Marché Bonsecours
Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours
Musée Marguerite-Bourgeoys
Place Jacques-Cartier
Place d’Armes
Lieu historique national du Canada de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier
Édifice Lucien-Saulnier
Complexe Chaussegros-de-Léry
Édifice Jacques-Viger
Maison de la culture Frontenac

Le Square Victoria est un square au cœur du Quartier international de Montréal. De forme rectangulaire allongée, il se situe dans une voie qui porte plusieurs noms, entre la côte du Beaver Hall, au nord, et la rue McGill, au sud. Il est bordé par les rues Viger au nord et la rue Saint-Jacques au sud. Il est traversé par la rue Saint-Antoine. Une station de métro porte son nom : Square-Victoria, dont deux entrées débouchent dans le square.

Un des éléments les plus importants du Square demeure l’entrée de métro de style art nouveau d’Hector Guimard, créée selon les modèles des entrées du métro parisien. Une grande statue de la reine Victoria y figure également, en plein centre. Il y a aussi une statue de Ju Ming appelée Simple fouet en Taichi (Taichi Single Whip).

Des terrasses ornées de sculptures modernes, de jets d’eau enlignés et de bancs, réservent de la place à des arbres individuels, au nord, ou groupés en un boisé, au sud.

Aux abords du square sont situés : à l’est le Centre de commerce mondial de Montréal, à l’ouest la Tour de la Bourse et la Place de la Cité internationale et au sud l’édifice Québecor.