Notre-Dame-de-Grâce


Notre-Dame-de-Grâce (also known colloquially as NDG) is a neighborhood in the Côte-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grâce borough. Part of the city of Montreal whose origins go back to the time of New France, it is today one of the most multiethnic of the city.

Located on the western slope of Mount Royal, the Notre-Dame-de-Grâce district is today bounded on the north by the Côte Saint-Luc Road, on the east by Claremont Street (south-east) and Victoria Street (northeast), south on Saint-Jacques Street and west on Connaught Street.

The commercial heart of NDG, Monkland Avenue – or Monkland Village for the Intimate -, has a good pace. In summer, even on weekdays, the terraces in the heart of the are are crowded. A little further west, where shops are more scattered, the Bacaro pizzeria announced its arrival this fall.

Starbucks, Sushi Shop, Pizzédélic, Second Cup and Yeh! Frozen yogurt & coffee are as zoned as the independent Melk coffee. “It’s going well here,” says Elias Assaleh, who runs the Sparkles Confections party accessories store. Mont-Royal Avenue, on the Plateau, where I also have a store, has changed … by degrading itself. While ridership has increased on Monkland. ”

Systematically, the customer is greeted in French and English in the shops. “It’s an obligation to be bilingual here,” says Sophie Rayef, Director of Marketing for Gastronomia, owner of Cool & Simple frozen food shops. We already had problems because we only said “Hello!” We had to review all our communication. ”

“That said, my English-speaking clients speak impeccable French,” notes Dominique Jacques, owner of Melk.

The neighborhood, which has 191 businesses, has attracted several young Francophone families from the Plateau and Outremont for 15 years.

“In 1990, we found The Gazette, but very little La Presse on Monkland! The increase since then in the number of Francophones has had an impact on the type of products and services offered.

” – Claude Lauzon, Director of the Côte-des-Neiges Development Corporation – Notre-Dame-de-Grâce
Francophones, Anglophones, young and old alike rub shoulders harmoniously. “Two high schools are just minutes from our local. Students make up a large part of our clientele, “says Pascal Salzman, owner of Le Cheese restaurant, who praises the” community “side of the neighborhood. “A force in NDG! People like to support us. We are like their friends. “
Examples ? To mark the beginning of the summer holidays, Ben & Jerry’s tradition is to distribute free ice cream to local schools. “It costs a fortune! launches Claude Lauzon. And when Monkland Shoe Repair went into fire in 2012, the manager of the Royal Bank spontaneously organized a fundraiser to relocate her. The owner couple was stunned. “
Another distinctive attraction: with its restaurants, its florist, the furniture store Zone, its banking institutions, the supermarket Provigo, the SAQ and the health services, Monkland is self-sufficient! “In the area, it’s one of the few streets that offers everything,” says Claude Lauzon. Hampstead, Westmount, Montreal West and Côte Saint-Luc have no arteries with bars and restaurants, except for Sherbrooke and Greene. Monkland is both a street of proximity and destination. All the banks are there. The Caisse Desjardins on Décarie is coming soon here! ”

VICTIME DE SON SUCCÈS

The high family income and the type of occupations of its residents favor the tangle of the street. The median household income of Côte-Saint-Antoine, the neighborhood where Monkland Village is located, is $ 110,000. And 23% of households in this neighborhood have a family income of more than $ 125,000. “About 10% of the sector’s workforce is self-employed,” says Claude Lauzon. Without taking the car, you can live, work and play on Monkland. “

However, victim of its popularity, Monkland offers less and less affordable premises to traders. “The street has changed a lot in 25 years,” says Claude Lauzon. Not in terms of its layout or its friendliness, but the type of shops. Today, we see more banners, restaurants and bars. As a result, rents have risen, which has disadvantaged independent trade. “
The owner of Alex H knows something about it. In 2000, after having run a restaurant for ten years on Monkland, he moved his menu and tables to a local Sherbrooke street. “I liked Monkland a lot, but the rent was expensive,” says Alex Haddad. On Sherbrooke, it was half the price! “
Fortunately, when you walk away from rue Décarie, leases are “three to four times cheaper,” notes Pascal Salzman. “
But since we’re out for business, it’s harder for us to attract people,” says Sophie Rayef. So we have a loyalty card, we make promotions and we adapt the offer locally. On weekends, we organize free tastings. ”

DISCOVER THE AVENUE MONKLAND MERCHANTS

Chocolates Geneviève Grandbois, 5600

Monkland’s customers have been discovering Geneviève Grandbois’ caramel with fleur de sel and metallic packaging since last fall. Notice to future conquered palates: we will soon offer a new version of the square chocolate bar, a must-have for chocolate. “This is the first time we have settled in an English-speaking neighborhood,” says consultant Laetitia Shaigetz. People are discovering us. Chocolate has no language, but we must succeed in bringing them home! “
Melk Coffee Bar, 5612
Want a homemade scone? Direction Melk! “We do not find that good usually, concedes the co-owner Dominique Jacques. A scone, the next day, taken in the fridge, it’s only a ball of dough! But fresh, it’s delicious! They are made with organic flour and the sugar is cut a lot. For the past two years, the 450 sq. Ft. Café has stood tall in front of the nearby Starbucks and Second Cup. “We made it welcoming for all, notes Dominique Jacques. We really rearrank it when we arrived. And the customers immediately encouraged us. “
Sparkles Confections, 5615
It’s a candy paradise! The 2700 sq ft room has 2000 kinds! “And these are more than just supermarket gummies,” says partner Elias Assaleh. We have rare sweets such as Australian licorice. We also have a lot of retro sweets, as we found in the 70’s, 80’s and 90’s. “The rest of the space is devoted to accessories for birthdays, weddings, corporate events and other bar mitzvahs. A rainbow for the eyes!
Cool & Simple, 5855
Welcome to the frozen grocery store! The long zen and airy freezers contain 350 pizzas, candied meats, appetizers and pastries. “From appetizer to dessert,” says Sophie Rayef, marketing director of Gastronomia, owner of Cool & Simple. We have occasional products for every day. However, we put more and more on the daily newspaper. More local products and dishes are offered. We can also often enjoy tastings and promotions.
The Cheese, 5976
During a craving, at noon and at 3 o’clock in the morning, go to Cheese. First a street food truck, the place was converted, in 2014, into a delightful 18-seater sun-yellow restaurant where macaroni and cheese are served and grilled cheese that tastes … the shepherd’s pie, the Big Mac or chicken wings! “We offer classics from our childhood that are reinvented with local products and cheeses,” says owner Pascal Salzman. And it appeals to young and old! “
Tricot Area, 6050
The all-white place contains walls of wool balls grouped by colors. The effect does not leave indifferent, whether you are a knitting enthusiast or a beginner. For the past five years, Espace Tricot has been attracting women and men from the neighborhood and the city. “The internet has really helped the popularity of knitting, because of the sites and forums,” says consultant Amalia Siontas. Espace Tricot specializes in wool made in Canada and hand dyed in Quebec. Sold from $ 5 to $ 50, the balls can be used at home or on site during “Knit Nights”.
Italian pantry, 6132
We know that it will taste good as soon as you set foot in this charming pantry! For the past five years, the tiny, busy place has been selling dumplings, lasagna and good sandwiches. “We’re like a little Italian convenience store,” says co-owner Steve Marcone. And we like to advise the clientele. To spoil yourself further, you go to the neighbor De ‘Mercanti for a biscuit or a coffee. “They are friends who have sold the place, says Steve Marcone. We really form a beautiful duo! ” 

Source: Isabelle Massé – La Presse

Notre-Dame-de-Grâce

Notre-Dame-de-Grâce


Notre-Dame-de-Grâce (qu’on appelle aussi familièrement NDG) est un quartier de l’arrondissement Côte-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grâce. Quartier de la ville de Montréal dont l’origine remonte à l’époque de la Nouvelle-France, il est aujourd’hui l’un des plus multiethniques de la ville.

Situé sur le versant ouest du Mont royal, le quartier Notre-Dame-de-Grâce est aujourd’hui délimité au nord principalement par le Chemin de la Côte Saint-Luc, à l’est par la rue Claremont (sud-est) et la rue Victoria (nord-est), au sud par la rue Saint-Jacques et à l’ouest par la rue Connaught.

Le cœur commercial de NDG, l’avenue de Monkland – ou Village Monkland pour les intimes –, bat à un bon rythme. L’été, même en semaine, les terrasses dans le coin chaud de l’artère sont bondées. Un peu plus à l’ouest, où les commerces sont plus disséminés, la pizzéria Bacaro annonce en grand son arrivée, cet automne.

Les chaînes Starbucks, Sushi Shop, Pizzédélic, Second Cup et Yeh ! Yogourt glacé & café sont autant zieutées que le café indépendant Melk. « Ça se développe bien ici, estime Elias Assaleh, qui gère la boutique d’accessoires de fête Sparkles Confections. L’avenue du Mont-Royal, sur le Plateau, où j’ai aussi un magasin, a changé… en se dégradant. Alors que l’achalandage a augmenté sur Monkland. »

Systématiquement, le client est accueilli en français et en anglais dans les commerces. « C’est une obligation d’être bilingue ici, dit Sophie Rayef, directrice du marketing de Gastronomia, propriétaire des boutiques de plats surgelés Cool & Simple. On a déjà eu des problèmes, car on ne disait que “Bonjour !”. On a dû revoir toute notre communication. »

« Cela dit, mes clients anglophones parlent un français impeccable », note Dominique Jacques, propriétaire de Melk.

Le quartier, où l’on dénombre 191 commerces, a attiré plusieurs jeunes familles francophones du Plateau et d’Outremont depuis 15 ans.

« En 1990, on retrouvait The Gazette, mais très peu La Presse sur Monkland ! La hausse depuis du nombre de francophones s’est répercutée sur le type de produits et services offerts. »

— Claude Lauzon, directeur de la Société de développement Côte-des-Neiges– Notre-Dame-de-Grâce

Francophones, anglophones, jeunes et moins jeunes se côtoient harmonieusement. « Deux écoles secondaires se trouvent à quelques minutes de notre local. Les étudiants constituent ainsi une grande partie de notre clientèle », dit Pascal Salzman, propriétaire du restaurant Le Cheese, qui vante le côté « communautaire » du quartier. « Une force dans NDG ! Les gens aiment nous appuyer. On est comme leurs amis. »

Des exemples ? Pour marquer le début des vacances estivales, Ben & Jerry’s a comme tradition de distribuer gratuitement de la crème glacée aux écoles du quartier. « Ça coûte une fortune ! lance Claude Lauzon. Et lorsque la Cordonnerie Monkland est passée au feu, en 2012, spontanément, la gérante de la Banque Royale a organisé une collecte de fonds pour la relocaliser. Le couple propriétaire était abasourdi. »

Autre attrait distinctif : avec ses restaurants, son fleuriste, le magasin de meubles Zone, ses institutions bancaires, le supermarché Provigo, la SAQ et les services de santé, Monkland s’autosuffit ! « Dans le secteur, c’est une des rares rues qui offrent tout, estime Claude Lauzon. Hampstead, Westmount, Montréal-Ouest et Côte-Saint-Luc n’ont pas d’artères avec des bars et restos, mis à part Sherbrooke et Greene. Monkland est donc à la fois une rue de proximité et de destination. Toutes les banques y sont. La Caisse Desjardins sur Décarie s’en vient bientôt ici ! »

VICTIME DE SON SUCCÈS

Le revenu familial élevé et le type de professions de ses résidants favorisent le fourmillement de la rue. Le revenu médian des ménages propriétaires de Côte-Saint-Antoine, le quartier où se situe le Village Monkland, est de 110 000 $. Et 23 % des ménages de ce quartier ont un revenu familial de plus de 125 000 $. « Environ 10 % de la population active du secteur sont des travailleurs indépendants, souligne Claude Lauzon. Sans prendre la voiture, on peut vivre, travailler et se divertir sur Monkland. »

Cependant, victime de sa popularité, Monkland offre de moins en moins de locaux abordables aux commerçants. « La rue a beaucoup changé en 25 ans, explique Claude Lauzon. Non pas au niveau de son aménagement ni de sa convivialité, mais du type de commerces. Aujourd’hui, on voit plus de bannières, de restos et de bars. Les loyers ont donc grimpé, ce qui a désavantagé le commerce indépendant. »

Le propriétaire d’Alex H en sait quelque chose. En 2000, après avoir tenu un restaurant pendant dix ans sur Monkland, il a déménagé son menu et ses tables dans un local rue Sherbrooke. « J’aimais beaucoup Monkland, mais le loyer devenait dispendieux, se remémore Alex Haddad. Sur Sherbrooke, c’était la moitié du prix ! »

Heureusement, quand on s’éloigne de la rue Décarie, les baux sont « de trois à quatre fois moins chers », note Pascal Salzman.

« Mais comme on est hors secteur, c’est plus difficile pour nous d’attirer des gens, dit Sophie Rayef. On a donc une carte de fidélité, on fait des promotions et on adapte l’offre localement. Les week-ends, on organise des dégustations gratuites. »

DÉCOUVREZ LES COMMERÇANTS DE L’AVENUE MONKLAND

Chocolats Geneviève Grandbois, 5600

La clientèle de Monkland découvre le caramel à la fleur de sel et les emballages métallisés de Geneviève Grandbois depuis l’automne dernier. Avis aux futurs palais conquis : on y offrira prochainement une nouvelle déclinaison de la tablette chocolatée carrée, un incontournable de la chocolaterie. « C’est la première fois que nous nous établissons dans un quartier anglophone, dit la consultante Laetitia Shaigetz. Les gens nous découvrent. Le chocolat n’a pas de langue, mais il faut réussir à les faire entrer chez nous ! »

Melk Bar à café, 5612

Envie d’un scone fait maison ? Direction Melk ! « On ne trouve pas ça bon habituellement, concède le copropriétaire Dominique Jacques. Un scone, le lendemain, pris dans le frigo, ce n’est qu’une boule de pâte ! Mais frais, c’est délicieux ! On les fait avec de la farine bio et on coupe beaucoup le sucre. » Depuis deux ans, le café de 450 pi2 se tient bien droit devant les Starbucks et Second Cup à proximité. « On l’a rendu accueillant pour tous, note Dominique Jacques. Nous l’avons vraiment réaménagé à notre arrivée. Et la clientèle nous a tout de suite encouragés. »

Sparkles Confections, 5615

C’est le paradis des bonbons ! Le local de 2700 pi2 en compte 2000 sortes ! « Et ce sont plus que des gummies de supermarché, lance l’associé Elias Assaleh. On a des bonbons rares telles des réglisses d’Australie. On a aussi beaucoup de sucreries rétros, comme on en trouvait dans les années 70, 80 et 90. » Le reste de l’espace est consacré à des accessoires pour des anniversaires, mariages, événements d’entreprises et autres bar-mitsvah. Un arc-en-ciel pour les yeux !

Cool & Simple, 5855

Bienvenue à l’épicerie du surgelé ! Les longs congélateurs du commerce zen et aéré contiennent 350 pizzas, viandes confites, amuse-bouches et viennoiseries. « De l’entrée au dessert, résume Sophie Rayef, directrice du marketing de Gastronomia, propriétaire de Cool & Simple. Nous avons des produits occasionnels et pour tous les jours. On mise toutefois de plus en plus sur le quotidien. On propose davantage de produits locaux et de plats à partager. » On peut aussi souvent profiter de dégustations et de promotions.

Le Cheese, 5976

Lors d’une fringale, à midi comme à 3 h du matin, rendez-vous au Cheese. D’abord un camion de bouffe de rue, l’endroit s’est converti, en 2014, en charmant resto jaune soleil de 18 places où l’on sert du macaroni au fromage et des grilled cheese qui goûtent… le pâté chinois, le Big Mac ou les ailes de poulet ! « Nous proposons des classiques de notre enfance qu’on réinvente avec des produits et fromages d’ici, résume le propriétaire Pascal Salzman. Et ça plaît aux petits et grands ! »

Espace Tricot, 6050

L’endroit tout blanc renferme des murs de balles de laine regroupées par couleurs. L’effet ne laisse pas indifférent, qu’on soit un féru de tricot ou un débutant. Depuis cinq ans, Espace Tricot attire des femmes et hommes du quartier et de toute la ville. « Internet a vraiment aidé à la popularité du tricot, à cause des sites et des forums de discussion », note la consultante Amalia Siontas. Espace Tricot est spécialisé dans la laine fabriquée au Canada et teinte à la main au Québec. Vendues de 5 à 50 $, les balles peuvent être utilisées à la maison ou sur place lors de « Knit Nights ».

Garde-manger italien, 6132

On sait que ça goûtera bon dès qu’on met le pied dans ce charmant garde-manger ! Depuis cinq ans, le minuscule endroit chargé propose des boulettes de papa, lasagnes et bons sandwichs. « On est comme un petit dépanneur italien, résume le copropriétaire Steve Marcone. Et on aime conseiller la clientèle. » Pour se gâter davantage, on traverse chez le voisin De’ Mercanti pour un biscuit ou un café. « Ce sont des amis à qui on a vendu le local, précise Steve Marcone. On forme vraiment un beau duo ! »

Source: Isabelle Massé – La Presse