Griffintown

Griffintown


Griffintown is a former working-class neighborhood in southwest Montreal. The neighborhood is located between Notre-Dame Street, the Bonaventure Expressway and Georges-Vanier Boulevard. It is located north of the Lachine Canal. It is important to mention that the neighborhood is divided into two parts, one part in the Sud-Ouest borough of Montreal and the other in the Ville-Marie borough of Montreal.

The Cité du multimédia has been built partly above the ruins. The remains are kept in the McCord Museum. Director Michel Regnier made a film on the subject in 1972. David O’Keefe published a historical book in English called The Ghosts of Griffintown.

In 2005, the project of moving the Casino de Montréal around the Peel Basin, in an entertainment complex in partnership with Cirque du Soleil, provoked controversy because of the social impact of the establishment of a gambling establishment. in a poor neighborhood. The project was finally abandoned in 2006.

Real Estate Projets

Projects On November 11, 2010, South West Borough Mayor Benoît Dorais reported that Griffintown is the envy of many real estate developers because they want to build twenty-three real estate projects, or 6,500 housing units, unheard of in Montreal7.

Prével – Lowney

At the root of the recent revitalization of the neighborhood and the craze for Griffintown, property developer Prével [archive] began in 2003 its Lowney project [archive] which consisted at that time in the renovation of the old Lowney chocolate factories (Cherry Blossom) a neighborhood icon8. Since then, Prével [archive] has sold more than 1125 housing units spread over 11 phases and recently launched its new block of more than 500 units, Lowney Sur Ville [archive] 9.

Griffin District is a future multi-phase real estate project in Griffintown. On August 30, 2010, developer Devimco announced investments of $ 475 million for its first phase, which will include four towers representing 1,375 homes, businesses and a hotel10.

The Bonaventure District 
will be the future neighborhood at the entrance to Montreal along the new urban boulevard Bonaventure11.

Prével – Rachel Julien – Bassins of Le Havre

Real estate project thought from the perspective of sustainable development, the Bassins du Havre [archive] make the link between ecology and real estate development. There are 1,800 homes in this innovative project seeking LEED12 certification.

The Hexagon

Announced in 2013, L’Hexagone [archive] is a high-end apartment project developed in partnership by Devimco, Fonds immobilier de solidarité FTQ and Société de gestion Cogir13. Estimated at $ 66 million, the building will include 257 rental apartments and commercial spaces on the first floor.

Griffintown

Griffintown


Griffintown est un ancien quartier ouvrier du Sud-Ouest de Montréal. Le quartier est situé entre la rue Notre-Dame, l’Autoroute Bonaventure et le Boulevard Georges-Vanier . Il est situé au nord du Canal de Lachine. Il est important de mentionner que le quartier est séparé en deux, une partie dans l’arrondissement Sud-Ouest de Montréal et l’autre dans l’arrondissement Ville-Marie de Montréal.

La Cité du multimédia a été bâtie en partie au-dessus des ruines. Les restes sont conservés dans le musée McCord. Le réalisateur Michel Régnier a réalisé un film sur le sujet en 1972. David O’Keefe publia un livre historique en anglais intitulé The Ghosts of Griffintown.

En 2005, le projet de déménagement du Casino de Montréal aux abords du bassin Peel, dans un complexe de divertissement en partenariat avec le Cirque du Soleil, suscita la controverse à cause de l’impact social de l’implantation d’un établissement de jeu dans un quartier défavorisé. Le projet fut finalement abandonné en 2006.

Projets immobiliers

Le 11 novembre 2010, le maire d’arrondissement du Sud-Ouest, Benoît Dorais rapporte que Griffintown est la convoitise de plusieurs promoteurs immobiliers car ceux-ci veulent construire vingt-trois projets immobiliers, soit 6500 logements, du jamais vu à Montréal7.
Prével – Lowney

À l’origine de la revitalisation récente du quartier et de l’engouement pour Griffintown, le promoteur immobilier Prével [archive] a amorcé en 2003 son projet Lowney [archive] qui consistait à l’époque en la rénovation des anciennes usines de chocolat Lowney (Cherry Blossom) une icône du quartier8. Depuis, Prével [archive] a vendu plus de 1125 unités d’habitation réparties sur 11 phases et a récemment lancé son nouvel îlot de plus de 500 unités, Lowney Sur Ville [archive]9.

Le District Griffin
est un futur projet immobilier de plusieurs phases dans Griffintown. Le 30 août 2010, le promoteur Devimco annonce des investissements de 475 millions de dollars pour sa première phase, qui comprendront quatre tours soit 1375 logements, des commerces et un hôtel10.

Le Quartier Bonaventure
sera le futur quartier à l’entrée de Montréal le long du nouveau boulevard urbain Bonaventure11.

Prével – Rachel Julien – Bassins du Havre

Projet immobilier pensé sous l’angle du développement durable, les Bassins du Havre [archive] font le lien entre écologie et développement immobilier. On trouve 1800 logements dans ce projet innovateur voulant obtenir la certification LEED12.

L’Hexagone

Annoncé en 2013, L’Hexagone [archive] est un projet d’appartement de haut de gamme développé en partenariat par Devimco, Fonds immobilier de solidarité FTQ et Société de gestion Cogir13. Estimé à 66 millions de dollars, l’immeuble comportera 257 appartements locatifs ainsi que des espaces commerciaux au premier étage.