Hochelaga-Maisonneuve

Hochelaga-Maisonneuve


Hochelaga-Maisonneuve is a neighborhood of Montreal. It was at one time the working-class district of the city. It is part of the borough of Mercier-Hochelaga-Maisonneuve.

The name Hochelaga comes from the name of an Indian village, discovered on the side of Mount Royal by Jacques Cartier in 1535.

The foundation of the Nativity parish of the Blessed Virgin of Hochelaga dates back to 1867. Its territory extends from the rue d’Iberville in the west to the Longue-Pointe district (rue Vimont) to the east. The municipality of Hochelaga was formed in 1875. From 1874 to 1883, the establishment of important industries, including the Victor Hudon cotton mills, the St. Anne’s spinning mill and the WC McDonald tobacco factory, led to a significant expansion from the village of Hochelaga.

Thanks to this growth, Hochelaga passed from village status to city status on March 30, 1883. However, as it could not meet the expenses generated by the necessary construction of streets, sewers, etc., the city was annexed to Montreal at the end of the year an official ceremony on December 22, 1831.

However, it is not the entire territory of Hochelaga that is annexed. Indeed, some landowners refuse the annexation and ask the creation of a new municipality: the City of Maisonneuve is created on December 27, 1883. This municipality will extend east of the district, from the street Bourbonnière to the street Viau. The former mayor’s house became the neighborhood’s library, located at the corner of Pie IX and Ontario Streets.

The neighborhood was mainly residential and the population was mostly in the working class. Its development was nevertheless later. To further facilitate economic development, Maisonneuve is a municipal council and grants industries a tax holiday. It had to declare bankruptcy, unable to finance the scale of its ambitions. It was annexed by Montreal in 1918. Maisonneuve rivaled Montreal by its industrial territories. After the closure of several factories in the 1980s, Hochelaga-Maisonneuve had to deal with rising poverty and unemployment. The 2000s were marked by a gentrification of the neighborhood.

Attractions

Olympic Stadium of Montreal

Saputo Stadium – Montreal Impact

Biodome

Maisonneuve Cegep

Dufresne-Nincheri Museum

American Can Co. Building

Maisonneuve Cultural Center(and the library)

Church of the Most Holy Name of Jesus

Church of the Most Holy Redeemer

Church Nativity-of-the-Holy-Virgin-d’Hochelaga

Sucre Lantic Company

Barracks Letourneux

Morgan Park

Denise-Pelletier Theater

Morgan Avenue

Maisonneuve Market

Public Bath Maisonneuve

Lalancette Park

Ontario Walk

Ste-Catherine East Parkway

Baril School

Country Park

The circular arc

The 99

Stations de métro

Préfontaine
Joliette
Pie-IX
Viau

Hochelaga-Maisonneuve

Hochelaga-Maisonneuve


Hochelaga-Maisonneuve est un quartier de Montréal. Il a été à une époque le quartier ouvrier francophone de la ville. Il fait partie de l’arrondissement de Mercier–Hochelaga-Maisonneuve.

Le nom Hochelaga provient du nom d’une bourgade indienne, découverte au flan du mont Royal par Jacques Cartier en 1535.

La fondation de la paroisse Nativité de la Sainte-Vierge d’Hochelaga remonte à 1867. Son territoire s’étend alors de la rue d’Iberville à l’ouest, au quartier Longue-Pointe (rue Vimont) à l’est. La municipalité d’Hochelaga est constituée en 1875. De 1874 à 1883, l’implantation d’importantes industries, dont la compagnie des Moulins à coton Victor Hudon, la Filature Sainte-Anne et la fabrique de tabac W.C. McDonald, provoque un essor important du village d’Hochelaga.

Grâce à cette croissance, Hochelaga passe du statut de village à celui de ville le 30 mars 1883. Cependant ne pouvant pas rencontrer les dépenses engendrées par la construction nécessaire de rues, d’égouts, etc., la ville est annexée à Montréal lors d’une cérémonie officielle le 22 décembre 1831.

Ce n’est toutefois pas l’ensemble du territoire d’Hochelaga qui se voit annexé. En effet, certains propriétaires fonciers refusent l’annexion et demandent la création d’une nouvelle municipalité : la Ville de Maisonneuve est créée le 27 décembre 1883. Cette municipalité s’étendra à l’est du quartier, de la rue Bourbonnière à la rue Viau. La maison de l’ancien maire est alors devenue la bibliothèque du quartier, située aux angles du boulevard Pie IX et de la rue Ontario.

Le quartier avait une vocation surtout résidentielle et la population se situait majoritairement dans la classe ouvrière. Son développement fut néanmoins plus tardif. Pour faciliter davantage le développement économique, Maisonneuve constitue un conseil municipal et accorde aux industries un congé de taxes. Elle devra déclarer faillite, ne pouvant financer l’ampleur de ses ambitions. Elle sera annexée par Montréal en 1918. Maisonneuve rivalisait avec Montréal par ses territoires industriels. Après la fermeture de plusieurs usines dans les années 1980, Hochelaga-Maisonneuve eu à faire avec une hausse de la pauvreté et du chômage. Les années 2000 ont été marquées par une gentrification du quartier.

Attraits

Stade olympique de Montréal
Stade Saputo – Impact de Montreal
Biodôme
Cégep de Maisonneuve
Musée Dufresne-Nincheri
Édifice de l’American can Co.
Maison de la culture Maisonneuve (et la bibliothèque)
Église du Très-Saint-Nom-de-Jésus
Église du Très-Saint Rédempteur
Église Nativité-de-la-Sainte-Vierge-d’Hochelaga
Compagnie Sucre Lantic
Caserne Letourneux
Parc Morgan
Théâtre Denise-Pelletier
Avenue Morgan
Marché Maisonneuve
Bain public Maisonneuve
Parc Lalancette
Promenade Ontario
Promenade Ste-Catherine Est
École Baril
Parc Champêtre
L’arc circulaire
Le 99

Stations de métro

Préfontaine
Joliette
Pie-IX
Viau