Rosemont

Rosemont


Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie is a borough of the city of Montreal. It covers an area of 15.9 km² and has a population of 136,885 inhabitants (in 2008).

The main arteries are Beaubien, Masson, Saint-Hubert and Viau Streets, Papineau Avenue and Rosemont, Saint-Laurent and Pie-IX Boulevards. The borough can be accessed by the Rosemont, Beaubien and Jean – Talon stations of the Montreal Line 2 – Orange Line. It can also be reached by the stations of the blue line Fabre and Iberville, although they are located on a street adjacent to the neighborhood, Jean-Talon Street.

In 1900, the Canadian Pacific built the Angus factories near the villages of Petite-Côte and Côte-de-la-Visitation, entrusting the purchase of land to Ucal-Henri Dandurand. The incorporated village was named in honour of Mr. Dandurand’s mother, named Rose Phillips. In 1910, it was permanently attached to the city of Montreal.

La Petite-Patrie (quarter)

The name of this district comes from Claude Jasmin’s La Petite Patrie television series, made in the 1970s, which evokes the happy memories of the Montreal youth of this neighborhood in the 1940s. This name was adopted from the 1980s.

Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie

The origin of the Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie appellation dates back to 1988 with the creation of nine borough council committees in Montreal3. In 1995, these committees were abolished and replaced by sixteen neighborhood councils. In the territory of Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie, three neighborhood councils were created: Petite-Patrie, Rosemont and Nouveau-Rosemont. The Borough of Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie that we know today was introduced in January 2002.

The borough includes the neighborhoods of Petite-Patrie, Rosemont, Nouveau-Rosemont and Angus. In Petite-Patrie there are several “ethnic neighborhoods”, such as Little Italy.

Points of Interest

House of Culture Rosemont-Petite-Patrie

Jean-Talon Market

Étienne-Desmarteau Center

Montreal Heart Institute

Santa Cabrini Hospital

Maisonneuve-Rosemont Hospital

Olympic Village of Montreal

Maisonneuve Park: Montreal Insectarium and Montreal Botanical Garden

Madonna della Difesa Church (Church of Our Lady of Defense)

Angus Park

The Art Library

Little Italy [archive]

Cinema Beaubien

Amanda’s house

Rosemont

Rosemont


Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie est un arrondissement de la ville de Montréal. Il est d’une superficie de 15,9 km² et a une population de 136 885 habitants (en 2008).

Les principales artères sont les rues Beaubien, Masson, Saint-Hubert et Viau, l’avenue Papineau et les boulevards Rosemont, Saint-Laurent et Pie-IX. On peut accéder à l’arrondissement par les stations Rosemont, Beaubien et Jean-Talon de la Ligne 2 – orange de la Société de transport de Montréal. On peut aussi y accéder par les stations de la ligne bleue Fabre et d’Iberville, bien que celles-ci soient situées sur une rue limitrophe du quartier, soit la rue Jean-Talon.

En 1900, le Canadien Pacifique fait construire les usines Angus près des villages de Petite-Côte et Côte-de-la-Visitation, confiant l’achat des terrains à Ucal-Henri Dandurand. Le village incorporé fut nommé en l’honneur de la mère de M. Dandurand, appelée Rose Phillips. En 1910, celui-ci fut définitivement rattaché à la ville de Montréal.

La Petite-Patrie (quartier)

Le nom de ce quartier provient du téléroman La Petite Patrie de Claude Jasmin, réalisé dans les années 1970, qui évoque les heureux souvenirs de la jeunesse montréalaise de ce quartier dans les années 1940. Ce nom a été adopté à partir des années 1980.

Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie

L’origine de l’appellation Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie remonte à 1988 avec la création des neuf comités-conseils d’arrondissements à Montréal3. En 1995, ces comités ont été abolis et remplacés par seize conseils de quartier. Sur le territoire de Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie sont alors créés trois conseils de quartier : Petite-Patrie, Rosemont et Nouveau-Rosemont. L’arrondissement de Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie que nous connaissons actuellement a été instauré en janvier 2002.

L’arrondissement comprend les quartiers de la Petite-Patrie, Rosemont, Nouveau-Rosemont et Angus. Dans la Petite-Patrie se trouvent plusieurs « quartiers ethniques », tels que la Petite Italie.

Points d’intérêt

Maison de la culture Rosemont-Petite-Patrie
Marché Jean-Talon
Centre Étienne-Desmarteau
Institut de cardiologie de Montréal
Hôpital Santa Cabrini
Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
Village olympique de Montréal
Parc Maisonneuve : Insectarium de Montréal et Jardin botanique de Montréal
Église Madonna della Difesa (Église de Notre-Dame-de-la-Défense)
Parc Angus
L’Artothèque
Petite-Italie [archive]
Cinéma Beaubien
Maison d’Amanda