Districts

Districts


DSC_0002

 

Montreal is the second most populous city in Canada. It is located mainly on the Montreal River Island, on the St. Lawrence River (between Quebec and Lake Ontario) in the south of the province of Quebec, where it is the main city.

The most populous French-speaking city in America4, Montréal is considered to have the second largest Francophone population in the world after Paris. In 2016, the city had 1,704,694 inhabitants and its urban area more than four million, about half of the population of Quebec. Montréal is the 19th most populated city in North America and the 122nd most populous city in the world. In 2011, about 50% of Montreal’s population was French-speaking, 13% English-speaking and 33% other-language1, making it one of the most cosmopolitan cities in the world.

As the economic heart of Quebec, Montréal remains the second largest financial center in the country and has an economy that is highly diversified by trade, education, information technology and the aerospace, pharmaceutical, tourism and film industries. Ranked world city in 2012, Montreal is the second largest consular city in North America, home to the headquarters of the International Civil Aviation Organization and is home to more than 60 international organizations. In addition, the city is the first in North America for the number of international conventions. In 2017, Montreal is dedicated to the “best student city” in the world and is considered Canada’s university metropolis. 2017 also marks the 375th anniversary of Montreal, which originally bore the name of Ville-Marie, was founded May 17, 1642 by the French Paul de Chomedey, Sieur de Maisonneuve, and Jeanne Mance, near the current Pointe-à-Callière Museum.

Montreal has hosted a number of major international events, including the 1967 World Expo and the 1976 Summer Olympics. As host of the Canadian Formula 1 Grand Prix, it hosts numerous annual festivals, such as the International Jazz Festival. Montreal, the FrancoFolies, and the Just for Laughs Festival. The Montreal Canadiens hockey club has been home to it since its creation in 1909.

·        The Montreal flag represents the French, English and Irish communities

·        The oldest tree on the island is in Pointe-aux-trembles

·        There are 4 Egyptian mummies in Montreal

·        You can visit a natural cave in St-Léonard

·        More than 5000 km of old sewers and tunnels run under the city

·        Boulevard Goui and the longest artery, with its 50 Km

·        Cartierville airport was the first of the metropolis

·        Some 100 species of fish swim in the waters around the city

·        1000 De La Gauchetière is the only building taller than Mount Royal

·        Peanut butter was invented in Montreal

·        The 1st Internet search engine, Archie, was designed at McGill

·        The Royal Curling Club is the oldest sport club in North America

·        A secret laboratory at UdeM (University of Montreal) continued in spite of himself to develop the atomic bomb

·        The Unemployed man’s pudding was born in Montreal during the economic crisis of the 30s

·        The oldest garden still maintained in North America is that of the Sulpicians (1657)

·        Notre-Dame-de-Neiges Cemetery is the largest in Canada

·        A segment of the Berlin Wall is on display at the World Trade Center (747 Square Victoria Street)

Quartiers

Quartiers


DSC_0002

 

Montréal est la deuxième ville la plus peuplée du Canada. Elle se situe principalement sur l’île fluviale de Montréal, sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent (entre Québec et le lac Ontario) dans le Sud de la province du Québec, dont elle est la principale métropole.

Ville francophone la plus peuplée d’Amérique4, Montréal est considérée comme ayant la deuxième population francophone au monde après Paris. En 2016, la ville comptait 1 704 694 habitants et son aire urbaine plus de quatre millions, soit environ la moitié de la population du Québec. Montréal est ainsi la 19e agglomération la plus peuplée d’Amérique du Nord et la 122e ville la plus peuplée du monde. En 2011, environ 50 % de la population de Montréal était de langue maternelle française, 13 % était de langue anglaise et 33 % était d’une autre langue1, ce qui fait d’elle l’une des villes les plus cosmopolites du monde.

Cœur économique du Québec, Montréal demeure le second plus grand centre financier du pays et possède une économie fortement diversifiée par le commerce, l’éducation, les technologies de l’information et les industries aérospatiale, pharmaceutique, du tourisme et du cinéma. Classée ville mondiale en 2012, Montréal est la deuxième ville consulaire d’Amérique du Nord, abrite le siège de l’Organisation de l’aviation civile internationale et est le siège de plus de 60 organisations internationales. De plus, la ville est la première d’Amérique du Nord pour le nombre de congrès internationaux. En 2017, Montréal est consacrée « meilleure ville étudiante » au monde et est considérée comme la métropole universitaire du Canada. 2017 marque aussi le 375e anniversaire de Montréal, qui à l’origine, portait le nom de Ville-Marie, a été fondée le 17 mai 1642 par les Français Paul de Chomedey, sieur de Maisonneuve, et Jeanne Mance, près de l’actuel musée de Pointe-à-Callière.

Montréal a accueilli plusieurs événements internationaux d’envergure, dont l’Exposition universelle de 1967 et les Jeux olympiques d’été de 1976. Hôte du grand prix de Formule 1 du Canada, elle accueille annuellement de nombreux festivals, tels le Festival international de jazz de Montréal, les FrancoFolies, et le festival Juste pour rire. Le club de hockey des Canadiens de Montréal y a élu domicile dès sa création en 1909.

  • Le drapeau de Montréal représente les communautés française, anglaise et irlandaise
  • Le plus vieil arbre de l’île se trouve à Pointe-aux-trembles
  • Il y a 4 momies égyptiennes à Montréal
  • On peut visiter une caverne naturelle à St-Léonard
  • Plus de 5000 Km d’anciens égouts et tunnels courent sous la ville
  • Le boulevard Goui et l’artère la plus longue, avec ses 50 Km
  • L’aéroport de Cartierville était le 1er de la métroplole
  • Quelque 100 espèces de poissons nagent dans les eaux qui bordent la ville
  • Le 1000 De La Gauchetière est le seul immeuble plus que le mont-Royal
  • Le beurre d’arachide a été inventé à Montréal
  • le 1er moteur de recherche sur Internet, Archie, a été conçu à McGill
  • Le Club de curling Royal est le plus vieux club sportif en Amérique du Nord
  • Un laboratoire secret à l’UdeM (université de Montréal) a continué malgré lui à développer la bombe atomique
  • Le pouding-chômeur a vu le jour à Montréal lors de la crise économique des années 30
  • Le plus vieux jardin toujours entretenu en Amérique du Nord est celui des sulpiciens (1657)
  • Le cimetière Notre-Dame-de-Neiges est le plus vaste au Canada
  • Un segment du mur de Berlin est exposé au centre de commerce mondial ( 747 Rue du Square-Victoria)